NEVADA DUI PENALTIES
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction in Nevada include a 90-day driver's license suspension. During the first 45 days, your license is suspended and no driving is allowed. After 45 days, you can obtain a restricted license to and from and during the course of employment if you are a Nevada resident.
If you are an out-of-state resident, you cannot get a restricted license to drive in Nevada and you may also get a driver's license suspension in your state of residence resulting from the Nevada conviction. You will be ordered to a driving under the influence (DUI) school and, if you are an out-of-state resident, this can normally be done in your state of residence.
Jail time or community service is required and, if you are an out-of-state resident, the law office of William Cole can usually get the court to agree that community service can be done in your state of residence. The fine in most Nevada courts will be less than $1,000.
The penalties for a second conviction within seven years include a one-year driver's license suspension as well as ten days to six months county jail time. The law office of William Cole can normally get the jail time converted into electronic-monitored house arrest. If you elect a treatment program or counseling, the jail time cannot be more than five days which, again, can be converted into an electronic-monitored house arrest.
The conviction for a third offense within seven years is a felony in the State of Nevada, with a mandatory one-year and up to six-year sentence in state prison. Instead of prison time and a felony conviction, the law office of William Cole may help you qualify for a treatment program with six months house arrest and five years probation.
The driver's license ramifications of a Nevada driving under the influence (DUI) conviction on residents of other states are too complicated for a full discussion here. However, as an example, for a first offense DUI conviction in Nevada, if you are a California resident, the California DMV will suspend your license for six months. This may be avoided if your case is handled properly in Nevada.
Practicing in two states, the law office of William Cole is used to dealing with these problems and can help you navigate these treacherous waters. William Cole is noted in the publication California Drunk Driving Law
as an attorney with experience in the interstate implications of drunk driving convictions.